The list of 10 lawmakers who will likely decide the final shape of the next two-year budget is complete.

Monday, House Speaker Joe Straus named his appointees to the conference committee on Senate Bill 1. They are:

  • Appropriations Chair Jim Pitts (R-Waxahachie)
  • Rep. Myra Crownover (R-Denton)
  • Rep. John Otto (R-Dayton)
  • Rep. Sylvester Turner (D-Houston)
  • Rep. John Zerwas (R-Richmond)

Last week, Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst announced the Senate appointees. The group will be responsible for merging the different budget bills passed out of the two chambers. The Senate bill allows for $1.7 billion more in spending.